top of page
Search
  • Tiaan Kruger

Shame On Me

I locked myself in the bedroom,

while shards of broken glass

streamed from my face.

Maybe it had been too quick,

maybe the sand in the hour glass

ran too fast.

Is that why you left me there,

on the bathroom floor,

broken into a million pieces

while you just shut the door?


Your lies and your secrets

had shred me to pieces,

had me wondering why

I ever let it happen, why I let myself die.

And yet, I had a love for you

hotter than a thousand stars,

I knew that, as did you,

but you let that explode,

let it turn into inky blacknes, as

our facade had left me tortuered,

trapped in a dungeon

in which a low gloom could not fully illuminate

the eventual demise.

But now, I can see through the lies.

The way you preached had had me fooled,

in that, you had all the right tools.

So maybe its better that it ended?

But even now, with my mechanisms

of defense- booze and words of untrue love- I still miss you.

Or at least, what you pretended we had.

The laughs and the nights

of endless, everlasting passion.

The days filled with pride and joy.

I should have known back then,

it was too good to be true.

I should've seen through your velvet hue.

So I blame myself.

After all, as they say,

as they preach world wide every day,

fool me once , shame on you.

Fool me twice, shame on me.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page