top of page
Search
  • Tiaan Kruger

The Deck

She sits in front

of me,

old and wrinkled and mean,

and I wonder why I'm here,

what I have that needs to be seen.


She grunts, placing the

three cards face down. I notice:

it's dark and damp and drowsy

in here. It's hopeless,

I think. I'm doomed, I know,

and I know that it shows.


She slowly looks down at the set

of Major Arcana cards,

the deck waiting for her blissful touch to

reveal their wicked meanings, sharp

like glass shards.


And then, she reads the cards.


She has a grin as she reads the first:

"Judgement, upside down,"

She says, and I frown,

"Shows your self-loathing."

I know she's right,

please, let me die on sight.


She plucks the second.

"The sun," she booms,

and I know I am doomed.

Her grin becomes evil,

because it's upside down,

I cannot make a sound.

She says, "It shows you are depressed."


And then,finally, card number three,

a message of which I'll never be free.

She reads:

"The Devil,"

and her wicked smile widens,

"It's upside down."

She leans over the table,

looking into my soul,

it's sold:

I am doomed,

because she reveals

what was sealed

by the deck:

"You will be an addict."

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page